Euro 2020 venues: What countries are hosting the tournament and is the final at Wembley?

EURO 2020 have almost arrived after an excruciating wait.

And Uefa have announced the list of cities hosting the tournament following the coronavirus pandemic, plus how many fans they will allow.

Which cities are hosting Euro 2020?

This summer's competition will be hosted in 11 different cities, down from the original 12.

The stadiums hosting the competition are as follows:

  • Wembley Stadium – London, England
  • Allianz Arena – Munich, Germany
  • Stadio Olimpico – Rome, Italy
  • Olympic Stadium – Baku, Azerbaijan
  • Krestovsky Stadium – Saint Petersburg, Russia
  • Arena Nationala – Bucharest, Romania
  • Johan Cruyff Arena – Amsterdam, Holland
  • Estadio de la Cartuja – Sevilla, Spain
  • Puskas Arena – Budapest, Hungary
  • Hampden Park – Glasgow, Scotland
  • Parken Stadium – Copenhagen, Denmark

Which countries are still hosting Euro 2020 and how many fans will they allow?

The following countries have given Uefa they assurances they need to host the competition.


Wembley Stadium, London (90,000 capacity)

Wembley is set to host all England's group matches, plus the Euro 2020 semi-final and final.

The FA have committed to hold their group games at a 25 per cent capacity.

However, this is likely to increase for the semi-final and final, with talk of a 50 per cent, or even a full capacity for those games.

The National Stadium will also host the last 16 match initially scheduled for Dublin, which will involve England if they win their group.


Hampden Park, Glasgow (51,866 capacity)

After months of speculation, the Scottish FA confirmed that Scotland would be able to host Euro 2020.

Hampden Park is the venue for two of Scotland's Euro 2020 group games, plus Croatia's match against the Czech Republic and one last 16 match.

It will host games at a 25 per cent capacity.


Olympic Stadium, Baku (68,700 capacity)

Azerbaijan has announced that it will be able to host Euro 2020 matches, including Wales' fixtures against Switzerland and Turkey.

Baku will also host Turkey vs Switzerland and one quarter-final.

All matches will be held at a 50 per cent capacity.


Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (38,065 capacity)

Copenhagen will host all three of Denmark's group matches, plus one last 16 match.

The Danish capital was the first city to announce in 2021 that it would host Euro 2020 with fans.

A crowd of 25-33 per cent capacity will be allowed into Parken Stadium.


Krestovsky Stadium, St Petersburg (68,134 capacity)

St Petersburg will host two of Russia's three home group games, plus Finland vs Belgium and one quarter-final.

In addition, it has been handed the three group games that were set to be hosted by Dublin.

All matches will be played at a minimum 50 per cent capacity.

Russia has been holding matches at half full stadiums throughout this season, while most of Europe has been playing behind closed doors due to coronavirus.


Arena Nationala, Bucharest (55,600 capacity)

Romania failed to qualify for Euro 2020 but their national stadium will still host three matches from Group C and one last 16 match.

Games at the Arena Nationala will be hosted at a capacity of 25-33 per cent.


Johan Cruyff Arena (56,000 capacity)

Netherlands was the second country to announce it would host Euro 2020 games, following Denmark.

All Holland's group games will be hosted at the Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam with a 25-33 per cent capacity able to attend.

The country began piloting matches with fans back in March's, with the World Cup qualifier against Latvia.


Puskas Arena, Budapest (67,215 capacity)

Budapest will host two of Hungary's three group matches, plus a repeat of the Euro 2016 final between Portugal and France.

It will also host one last 16 match.

The Hungarian capital is the only city to announce that games will be hosted at full capacity, subject to strict entry requirements.


Stadio Olimpico, Rome (72,698 capacity)

Italy was given extra time by Uefa to confirm that it could host fans at Euro 2020.

And the Stadio Olimpico in Rome has announced that it will host games at a 25 per cent capacity.

Rome will host all of Italy's group matches and a quarter-final which could involve England.


Allianz Arena (70,000 capacity)

The last of the original host cities to be announced – Munich was only confirmed on April 23.

The German city has committed to host matches in front of a minimum of 14,500 fans – a 20 per cent capacity – the lowest of all the host cities.


Estadio de la Cartuja, Seville (60,000)

A last minute addition, Seville will host the games that would have been held in Bilbao after the Spanish FA deemed the Basque Government's conditions for hosting matches there "impossible" to meet.

The stadium is well prepared to host games, having been the Spanish FA's de facto home during the pandemic.

Estadio de la Cartuja has hosted all Spain games, two Copa del Rey finals and the Spanish Super Cup in the past 12 months.

Euro 2020 games there will be played at a 30 per cent capacity.

Which cities have been removed from hosting Euro 2020?

The following countries failed to give Uefa the assurances they need to host Euro 2020.


Aviva Stadium, Dublin (51,700 capacity)

Dublin will miss out on Euro 2020 after failing to give Uefa guarantees that any fans will be allowed to attend matches.

The Irish capital was set to host three Group E matches and a last 16 game that may well have ended up involving England.

The three group matches it would have hosted have gone to St Petersburg while the last 16 match will be held at Wembley.


San Mames, Bilbao (53,322 capacity)

Bilbao did commit to meet Uefa's minimum requirement of a 25 per cent capacity, however the Spanish FA refused to back their submission due to the conditions attached.

The Basque government had stated that it would be able to host games provided 60 per cent of the Basque country and the rest of Spain had been vaccinated and less than two per cent of those in hospital were coronavirus patients.

But the Spanish FA labelled these conditions "impossible" to meet.

As a result, Seville will host the matches that were set for Bilbao.

Will any cities allow fans of other countries to travel?

The following countries are set to allow away fans to travel.


Azerbaijan has announced that fans of all travelling teams (Wales, Turkey, Switzerland and the two Baku quarter-finalists) will be able to submit a negative PCR test to enter the country instead of quarantining.

This offer only applies to citizens or residents of the participating countries.


St Petersburg is considering offering exemptions to entry requirements for all foreign residents with match tickets and a negative Covid test.

However, a final decision has not yet been confirmed.


Foreign ticket holders looking to attend games in Budapest must provide evidence of two negative Covid tests taken in the five days before entering Hungary.

The Hungarian government will also accept a certificate of previous Covid infection in the 6 months before entering the country.


Romania is considering providing an exemption to quarantine for foreign ticket holders for games in Bucharest.

This will apply to those who provide proof of a negative Covid test and restrict their stay in Romania to three days or les.


England is expected to allow 3600 Scotland fans to attend the game against the Three Lions at Wembley.

However, this trip would not involve crossing a border and no exemption is set to apply to fans of Croatia and the Czech Republic from overseas.

The FA are also reportedly considering allowing fans of the semi-finalists and finalists attend games under a bubble arrangement.

    Source: Read Full Article