2021 AIM Independent Music Awards Sees Arlo Parks Collecting 4 Nominations

Also collecting multiple nods for the August event is synthpop band Working Men’s Club who is up against the ‘Hope’ singer in the Best Independent Album category.

AceShowbizArlo Parks leads all nominees for the 2021 AIM Independent Music Awards with four nods.

The singer/songwriter and poet is up for Best Independent Album for her BRIT Awards-nominated debut, “Collapsed in Sunbeams”, and Best Independent Track for “Hope”, as well as U.K. Independent Breakthrough and Best Independent Video.

Of her nominations, Parks said, “What an honor to be nominated for four AIM awards.” She added, “This is far beyond my wildest dreams and I’m so glad my work has reached this far and touched so many, especially in these tumultuous times.”

Working Men’s Club are also hoping for a big night at the virtual ceremony in August after scoring three mentions. They’ll compete with Parks for Best Independent Album.

“It’s a real honor to be nominated for three AIM Awards, many thanks to AIM and to everyone that has backed our record,” the synthpop band commented on their nods. “We can’t wait to be back out playing in front of real people as soon as possible.”

About the event taking place on August 25, AIM chief executive Paul Pacifico gushed, “Every year I find myself saying how exciting and diverse the list of nominees is at the AIM Independent Music Awards, and 2021 is no exception. These awards genuinely represent the incredible array of talent and breadth of success in our community.”

“The artists and creative entrepreneurs we recognize are innovators at the cutting edge of culture,” he went on to say. “Building on our first ever virtual event last year, we’ve got some very special plans for the show in August and look forward to delivering a dynamic and spectacular interactive show.”

The list of nominees is:

U.K. Independent Breakthrough:

  • Arlo Parks
  • Conducta
  • India Jordan
  • Rina Sawayama
  • Working Men’s Club

International Breakthrough:

  • Bicep
  • Fontaines D.C.
  • Jayda G
  • Park Hye Jin
  • Tkay Maidza

Best Independent Track:

  • Arlo Parks – “Hope”
  • Bonobo & Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – “Heartbreak”
  • ENNY – “Peng Black Girls” ft. Amia Brave
  • Katy J Pearson – “Take Back the Radio”
  • Lava La Rue – “Magpie”
  • Mustafa – “Air Forces”
  • serpentwithfeet – “Fellowship”
  • Shygirl – “TASTY”
  • Squid – “Narrator” ft. Martha Skye Murphy
  • Tkay Maidza – “Shook”

Best Independent Album:

  • Arlo Parks – “Collapsed in Sunbeams”
  • Che Lingo – “The Worst Generation”
  • Dry Cleaning – “New Long Leg”
  • Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – “Promises”
  • Krust – “The Edge of Everything”
  • Moses Sumney – “græ”
  • Phoebe Bridgers – “Punisher”
  • Speaker Music – “Black Nationalist Sonic Weaponry”
  • Rian Treanor – “File Under UK Metaplasm”
  • Working Men’s Club – “Working Men’s Club”

Best Independent Video:

  • Arlo Parks – “Hope”
  • Julien Baker – “Hardline”
  • Kojaque – “No Hands”
  • Novo Amor – “If We’re Being Honest”
  • Wesley Joseph – “Thrilla”

Source: Read Full Article